Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

parrothead

Ervin Santana 2013 Outlook

108 posts in this topic

Any thoughts here? Ive been starting my SP prep for 2013 spreadsheet and did the Angels already. I have in my notes that 8 of his last 10 Starts he had a sub 3 ERA and in two of those he had 10+ Strikeouts.

That said, this year was pretty bad with 5+ ERA and lowest K numbers in 30+ start year.

Royals chasing another upside guy like Sanchez last year?

Any thoughts here? Ive been starting my SP prep for 2013 spreadsheet and did the Angels already. I have in my notes that 8 of his last 10 Starts he had a sub 3 ERA and in two of those he had 10+ Strikeouts.

That said, this year was pretty bad with 5+ ERA and lowest K numbers in 30+ start year.

Id say he is a better bet than Sanchez. Sanchez has terrible control which has always been what gets him. Santana has shown the ability to be a consistent SP before, hes a back end of the rotation guy in real life who has the ability to blow up in a good or bad way. I wouldnt be counting on him for fantasy purposes though.

He's better than Sanchez. Santana has no where near the control issues that have plagued Sanchez throughout his career. I still don't think he is worth taking until the very end of drafts. He's a high risk/high reward. His ceiling is probably as high as 3.5 ERA, 1.2 WHIP, 170 K's, but his floor is as low as 5.0 ERA, 1.4 WHIP, and 150 K's. He can blow up quickly and is a headache to own. I'm not touching him.

Fight it. Don't be fooled. He has good starts every now and then. Just know he's a train wreck waiting on any start.

Fight it. Don't be fooled. He has good starts every now and then. Just know he's a train wreck waiting on any start.

This. Ervin is the ultimate tease. 8 IP, 9 k's, 1 ER just as likely as 3 2/3, 4 BB's, 7 ER's.