Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

squidthunder

Ladder vs. Snake draft

Hey fellas,

First of all, I apologize if this is the wrong area for this question - and please move if there's a better area.

So, both of my keeper leagues are thinking about moving to a ladder draft instead of a snake draft. As being one of the top finishers in the league, I think it's going to hurt me come draft time next year.

Does anyone have any experience in moving to a ladder draft? Pros vs. Cons.

The commish wants to add the ladder to help the weaker teams in the league, but it doesn't seem too fair

Thanks for any input

I've never done one before, but I think it's fair. It attempts to make things one step closer to real life. You're essentially running a franchise. That's what happens in the NFL. The lesser teams get the earlier draft picks in order to promote parity.

I've never done a ladder draft, but I don't think they belong outside of dynasty leagues or leagues with a bunch of keepers. In a dynasty, it is basically real life. You have the best team, so you should pick at the end. In other leagues, it's really even. Every team will have solid keepers, so there shouldn't be any type of draft that gives certain teams advantages. Chances are pretty random as to which teams will be competitive in a snake draft setting before the draft, but in a ladder, the top teams automatically have the advantage just for being bad. It's just not fair to me.