Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

phillyloveslee

Mlb scoring question

7 posts in this topic

Why is a fielder's choice that doesn't get an out not count as an error? It's crazy that a pitcher gets punished for a mental error by a fielder (throwing it to the wrong base). Anyone know why this scoring still exists?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why is a fielder's choice that doesn't get an out not count as an error? It's crazy that a pitcher gets punished for a mental error by a fielder (throwing it to the wrong base). Anyone know why this scoring still exists?

If you're referring to the play Jeter made, it should be an error.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why is a fielder's choice that doesn't get an out not count as an error? It's crazy that a pitcher gets punished for a mental error by a fielder (throwing it to the wrong base). Anyone know why this scoring still exists?

If you're referring to the play Jeter made, it should be an error.

Yeah I thought so as well. Seems like some home cookin' from the score keeper.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Why is a fielder's choice that doesn't get an out not count as an error? It's crazy that a pitcher gets punished for a mental error by a fielder (throwing it to the wrong base). Anyone know why this scoring still exists?

Fielder's choice is defined in MLB Rule 2, "Definitions", as "the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter-runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner." FC is recorded for the batter-runner if he reaches first base safely regardless of whether the attempt to put out the other runner(s) is successful.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just been ruled a hit now. What a joke we all know its only a hit because its the great Jeter's farewell season.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, I've always hated it too... your fielder tries for the lead runner on a bunt and doesn't get him - and the pitcher gets hosed over it... because not only is it not an error - the runner that reaches via a failed FC attempt can count as an earned run against them too. But like yanksman points out - they don't give errors for mental screwups... or, for example, pop flies that should be caught but are lost in the lights (Polanco lost a ball yesterday that cost Locke an earned run)... so there are a few ways that pitchers can get screwed by fielding... even more so than if an error was scored.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites