89Topps

Eric Hosmer 2017 Outlook

54 posts in this topic

For some reason, there's no outlook thread for Hosmer.  Seems like people are generally pretty down on him.

I'm still a little new to the sabermetrics analysis, so bear with me while I try to cobble together an opinion here.  But, looking at his 2016 season leaves me scratching my head a bit.  Last year he lead the league in GB% at 58.9%, all the while posting a very good HR/FB% of 21.4, which led to a career high of 25 HRs.

That, to me, looks like a guy that should be trying to hit the ball in the air, but it appears Hosmer is more focused on the dreaded, "hit a ground ball the other way" approach. 

So, what do we think Hosmer will be this year?  Can we rely on that HR/FB% to the tune of another 25 HR season, or does he go back to his career norms and hover more around 17.

His ADP on ESPN is 84.7, right around Carlos Santana, about 15 picks behind Hanley Ramirez & about 36 behind Jose Abreu.  If you could promise me 80 Rs, 25 HRs & 100 RBIs, with a little bounce back in average, I'm buying.  But another year hovering around .265 with a dip back into the teens in terms of HRs and he looks more like Brandon Belt or Adrian Gonzalez, who I can get around pick 130.

He's a worm killing champ in a big ball park.

Expect the .266 BA to be a bit higher..but the HRs down, while only stealing maybe 5 bags.. Which makes him pretty much fodder for a 1B in fantasy.  He probably wont be on any of my teams besides really deep ones.  His R/RBI is the only thing that makes him rosterable in 12-14 Formats.

Edited by Slatykamora
2 people like this

5 minutes ago, Slatykamora said:

He's a worm killing champ in a big ball park.

Expect the .266 BA to be a bit higher..but the HRs down, while only stealing maybe 5 bags.. Which makes him pretty much fodder for a 1B in fantasy.  He probably wont be on any of my teams besides really deep ones.  His R/RBI is the only thing that makes him rosterable in 12-14 Formats.