jamaal99

4th pick H2H, Please help me out :)

Hi all, 

I am new to Fantasy basketball and I wanted your opinion on who to draft and what kind of players I can pair my first round pick. I am playing 9-Cat (FG%, FT%, 3PTM, PTS, REB, AST, STL, BLK and TO) Yahoo H2H with 14 teams and the following team settings: 

PG, SG, G, SF, PF, F, C, Util, BN, BN, BN and IL 

I currently have the 4th pick in the draft. Who should I pick first - I think I will be left with either Steph, Harden/Westbrook or KAT. Who would you pick and why? Also what build would you go with each of the mentioned players. Finally Who would you pair them in the second round? 

Thanks! 

Kat > Harden > steph > Ad/Kawhi.

You can pair anyone with these guys. I'd prefer another big, like a miles turner or porzingis or gobert. If you end up drafting Ad or Kat, you can also opt for a pg like lillard or irving. 

I like to build a solid team across all stats. With the players above, you should have a solid foundation moving forward. 

In your first year of fantasy I would just try to go all-around.

You can't really go wrong with the guys mentioned above.. the top 7-8 guys are all really strong. I'd say maybe try to cover as many positions as possible with your first 2 players. Like if you get Giannis, who is PG, SG, SF, PF eligible, and someone like Turner or Porzingis in the second to get your C. At the same time, try to cover as many categories as possible. Westbrook will get you great rebounds for a guard, but beware his FG and turnovers.

Harden should still have PG, SG, which is nice to have a multi-cat guard with elite FT (even with the rule change).

You'll figure out the nuances like how thin PF/Cs get after the early rounds, like how guards are deep, like how you've maybe drafted too many SFs.. 

Like how there's no way to save Drummond's FT, and later down the road you'll get the feeling on how to effectively punt categories.