sunnyside

J.A. Happ 2019 Outlook

Haven't heard specific money discussed in relation to this guy.  What kind of contract will he end up getting?  70 mil for 3?  80 for 4?

Edited by tonycpsu
Cleaned up cut & paste error

50 minutes ago, sunnyside said:

Haven't heard specific money discussed in relation to this guy.  What kind of contract will he end up getting?  70 mil for 3?  80 for 4?

I don't see money like that. I'm no expert, but a 2 year contract around $35 million, don't see 3 years, I really don't, but maybe 3 years for $50 mil, 

• Like 1

51 minutes ago, Whitecloud0101 said:

Is this the same ja Happ who has been really bad for the majority of his career?

Curious.

Pete Walker fixed him.  Now he is good.

• Like 1

12 hours ago, Whitecloud0101 said:

Is this the same ja Happ who has been really bad for the majority of his career?

Curious.

You mean the guy with a 3.48 ERA, 1.21 WHIP, 8.4 k/9, 2.63 bb/9, 58 wins over the last four years?

Curious. 

He's not a guy that should be anyone's SP1 or SP2, but he has proven over the last four seasons (3 1/3 really) that he's a useful mid-rotation guy for fantasy teams. And I wouldn't classify him as "really bad" for the majority of his career. Average or below average? Sure. Really bad? No. 

• Like 1

12 hours ago, TheBoatmen said:

Pete Walker fixed him.  Now he is good.

He's been very consistent but I'd still be hesitant giving a 3-year deal to a 36 year old pitcher. 

It seems it vests with 165 innings or 27 starts.  Seems kinda high to me.  If he repeats his solid 2017 season, for example, it doesn't vest.

On 12/11/2018 at 10:51 AM, Flyman75 said:

You mean the guy with a 3.48 ERA, 1.21 WHIP, 8.4 k/9, 2.63 bb/9, 58 wins over the last four years?

Curious.