Sign in to follow this  
Code of Hammurabi

NL & AL Only leagues - Why? Rationale and Support?

First let me start by saying im a relative newbie to fantasy baseball. I have been playing for about 5 years now. I am not one of these long time vets like many on these boards. Some of y'all are dinosaurs on here with 15 years+ experience. Kudos!

For the life of me I cant figure out the need and why anyone would want to play AL and NL only leagues. Whats even more interesting to me is that this league split structure is intrinsic to ONLY Baseball. For example we dont see NFC/AFC only leagues in football and Eastern/Western Conf leagues in baseball. What about baseball is so special that this league format has emerged and become some popular.

Some arguments i hear about why people play NL/AL leagues.

1) Its harder and you need to know more about the Game to be a successful Gm. Doesnt larger leagues like 16 and 20 team leagues serve the same function?

2) The AL/NL leagues are a "traditional" format and represent the roots and genesis of the structure of early baseball leagues.

3) Somehow AL/NL leagues duplicate the game better. For example most 4/5 starters in AL/NL only leagues are actually 4/5 starters in MLB.

I have asked this before maybe 2 years ago or so, but still find myself puzzled as to why anyone would want to play in this format.

• Like 1

I suppose it's all about the challenge. I'm in both an NL Only, and an AL Only. It's a different dynamic, unlike a mixed league where most everyone has an all-star type of lineup. It's fun to have to use your noodle and decide which scrub you add to your team, even though he may not get many AB's for the time being.

This is all valid rationale, but dont deeper leagues achieve what I have bolded below?