Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Robrain

Ideas For Adding Longevity To Your Fantasy Football League

What do those of you who have been in long-running fantasy leagues do to keep interest high?

When I started playing again in 2009 (hadn't since like 2000), I didn't really know what I was doing. My interest at that point was learning enough so that I could be competitive with everyone else in my league.

In 2010, since I'd been randomly making small videos, I decided to do a different form of smack talk by making a "team intro" video for my fantasy team. Basically a "look at my players, they're awesome, we're going to destroy you this year" sort of thing.

That video was received quite well, so I did a sequel Team Intro video for my 2011 fantasy team, but also branched out and created a separate League Intro video for the 2011 season.

The League Intro video was intended as a fun way to remind everyone participating in our league that fantasy football season was starting back up, so they should all start signing back into the league and getting prepped for the draft.

It went over well, so I've of course came back and made a League Intro video for the 2012 Season. Since I gave the 2011 video a loose "Highlander" theme ("There Can Be Only One!"), I decided to go with the flow and give the 2012 video the appropriate End-of-the-World theme:

Our Commissioner also writes a weekly blog post for our league including his predictions for everyone's matchups. He's also periodically done a league podcast, basically an audio version of his blog posts.

While a live, in-person draft isn't really an option for our particular league (we're scattered across the country), I'm considering creating a physical trophy that can be passed around to the winner each year. Potentially with each team that wins the league adding a small element of their own to the trophy to memorialize their victory.