DWright5

2020 Fantasy Baseball Strategy Thread

Posted (edited)

Hi guys, so every year, I feel like I miss out on the big breakout that gets picked up off the wire.  I pay attention to my team, I scour this forum, and I read my favorite fantasy baseball websites.  However, I still feel like I miss out on the breakouts.  I did pick up Lucas Giolito last year, so that was nice.  I feel like my issue is that I am too patient with the guys that I draft.  It's difficult to draft a guy at the end of March and drop one of them 2-3 weeks later for someone who could potentially be a breakout.  Or even if I do drop someone to pick up a guy off the wire, I feel invested in that guy and need to be patient with that guy whereas someone else I didn't think much of gets scooped up and breaks out with another team.

I was just wondering how you guys go about this each year.  Is it just sheer luck?  Is there a little more of science to it?  I've been playing fantasy baseball for almost 20 years and finding that next stud breakout off the FA wire is that golden ticket we all want to get, yet it's very difficult.

Thanks.

Edited by tonycpsu
Re-titled as a catch-all strategy thread for the 2020 season.

5 minutes ago, DWright5 said:

Hi guys, so every year, I feel like I miss out on the big breakout that gets picked up off the wire.  I pay attention to my team, I scour this forum, and I read my favorite fantasy baseball websites.  However, I still feel like I miss out on the breakouts.  I did pick up Lucas Giolito last year, so that was nice.  I feel like my issue is that I am too patient with the guys that I draft.  It's difficult to draft a guy at the end of March and drop one of them 2-3 weeks later for someone who could potentially be a breakout.  Or even if I do drop someone to pick up a guy off the wire, I feel invested in that guy and need to be patient with that guy whereas someone else I didn't think much of gets scooped up and breaks out with another team.